“Dear Oprah Winfrey…”

“I am writing to inform you that I cannot accept your kind offer to name this book as your October, 2007 selection for Oprah’s Book Club™. I realize this letter may come as something of a shock, given my reputation for shameless self-promotion, which I hope precedes me … The truth is, I don’t give a shit how many books you sell. I don’t care how much dough you give away, or how many famous people you make cry. At the end of the day, you’re a TV star. You show up on a tiny screen and give lonely people a place to park their emotions for an hour. You’re the world’s leading retailer of inspiration. You’re the Wal-Mart of Hope.”

Steve Almond

Leave a Reply

